top of page

Let's Go Travel Blog 

A wealth of information at your finger tips

© Copyright
  • Writer's pictureAlfy K Nsamba

COVID-19 - Uganda entry requirements - 01/05/21

On the 30th April 2021 the Ministry of Health in Uganda released an updated statement regarding entry requirements into Uganda on account of the increased number COVID-19 variants and infection numbers in specific countries around the world. Below is a summary of the statement which has spilt entry requirements into 3 Categories, for the full Ministry of Health statement please click on the image below.

Category One

Further to the existing COVID -19 control measures the following shall apply to all flight from India and all passengers originating from India as of the 01st May at 23.59hrs.

  1. All flights between Uganda and India are suspended until further notice.

  2. No travellers from India will be allowed into Uganda regardless of their route of travel.

  3. All travellers who have been in India or travelled through India in the last 14 days regardless of the route taken shall not be allowed into Uganda

  4. All traveller arriving from India before the suspension date regardless of the route of travel are expected to:

    • Be in possession of a negative COVID-19 PCR test that is digitally verifiable and conducted within 120 hours from the time of sample removal

    • Undergo a mandatory PCR test on arrival. All those who test positive shall undergo isolation at a government approved isolation centre at their own cost. Those who test negative shall undergo self isolation quarantine under the supervision of the Ministry of Health with mandatory retesting between 5 to 10 days.

  5. The following flights and travellers from India are exempt from the suspension.

    • Cargo flights where crew do not disembark

    • Technical stops where travellers do not disembark

    • Aircraft in a state or emergency

    • Operations relating to humanitarian aid, medical evacuation and any diplomatic flights approved by the appropriate authority.

    • Nationals returning home after medical treatment in India

Category Two

Travellers from USA, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, Turkey, South Africa, Ethiopia, Turkey, South Sudan and Tanzania should consider postponing non essential travel to Uganda.

Any traveller from these countries including Ugandan Nationals will be subjected to a PCR COVDI-19 test at the points of entry including Entebbe International Airport.

Category Three

Countries not in Category One or Two are exempt from the above measure.

Note: Individuals in Category Two and Three who have received their full COVID-19 Vaccination and are asymptomatic will be allowed in to the country without the need for testing on arrival.

The Ministry of Health will observe countries showing a rapid increase in the number of cases every 7 days and will advise on any restrictions in the coming weeks.

433 views0 comments


Lets Go Travel Logo_300dpi-02.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page