top of page
Uganda - Ruwenzori Mountain Plants.JPG

Hiking and Mountaineering in Uganda

Uganda like many parts of Africa has over many several millennia experienced considerable volcanic activity along the East African Rift Valley, which has left behind an assortment of volcanic peaks. These mountains that are now extinct are protected within the confines of national parks, and offer stunning areas for trekking for both inexperienced hikers and experienced mountaineers who welcome a challenge.
On Uganda’s western frontier are the Rwenzori Mountains; the highest block mountain in Africa, in the east is Mt. Elgon, the oldest and largest solitary volcano in Africa, and in the extreme southwest, are the extinct Virunga Mountains where some of the world’s last remaining mountain gorillas live. The distinction that Uganda’s peaks present is the favourable Ugandan climate and the outstanding scenery around and on these mountains with all manner of wildlife and plants, that make hiking and mountaineering in Uganda a truly unique and rewarding experience.

The Rwenzori Mountains are the highest block of mountains in Africa and are also known as the Mountains of the Moon. The mountain range is 120kms long and 65kms wide and has 6 permanently snowcapped peaks:
Mt. Luigi di Savoia at 4,62m,
Mt. Gessi at 4,715m,
Mt. Emin at 4,798m,
Mt. Baker at 4,843m,
Mt. Speke at 4,890m
Mt. Stanley at 5,109m
70 % of Rwenzori Mountains National Park is above 2,500m in altitude, making it Uganda’s highest park. 
The diverse nature of the Mountain range enables visitors to be able to do anything from a one day hike to a 10-day excursion.

Uganda - Ruwenzori Mountain Hike.JPG
Uganda - Mount Elgon SIpi River Trail-mi

The highest mountain in Eastern Uganda is km Mount Elgon, whose highest peak Wagagai stands at 4,231m. Although Mt. Elgon is Africa’s 8th highest mountain, it is by no means a difficult mountain to climb and it is in fact often selected for being an exciting alternative to the more strenuous climbs of East Africa.
The beauty of Mount Elgon is that hikers require no special equipment or technical experience.
Hiking can be done on several different trails of varying lengths. Shorter guided hikes explore the montane forest and bamboo to reach the caves and waterfalls.
There are currently 3 multi-day hikes that can be done:
Sasa River Trail,
Sipi Trail,
Piswa Trail
All of the above trails take in the summit, Wagagai at 4,321m and descend into Bumasola.

The Virunga Mountain Range

The Virunga Mountain Range is formed of 8 volcanoes which cover 3 countries, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda and Uganda. 

Mount Karisimbi – Rwanda & DRC - 4,507m             

Mount Mikeno – DRC - 4,437m

Mount Muhabura – Rwanda & Uganda   4,127m

Mount Bisoke – Rwanda &  DRC - 3,711m

Mount Sabyinyo - Rwanda / Uganda &  DRC - 3,674m

Mount Gahinga – Rwanda & Uganda - 3,474m

Mount Nyiragongo – DRC - 3,470m

Mount Nyamuragira – DRC - 3,058m

Uganda - Mount Muhabura and Mount Gahing
Uganda - Karamoja Landscape.jpg

The Karamoja region of Uganda is home to four prominent mountains that vary in height between 2,500m - 3,000m. Each mountain has its own unique characteristics and cultural significance.

Lets Go Travel Logo_300dpi-02.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
bottom of page